

# Cabinet Economic Development Committee

# Minute of Decision

This document contains information for the New Zealand Cabinet. It must be treated in confidence and handled in accordance with any security classification, or other endorsement. The information can only be released, including under the Official Information Act 1982, by persons with the appropriate authority.

# Advancing Large Scale Projects: Allocation of Funding for the Eastern Porirua Large Scale Project

Portfolios

Finance / Housing

On 31 August 2022, the Cabinet Economic Development Committee:

### **Background**

- noted that in May 2021, Cabinet agreed to set aside \$307 million from the Housing Acceleration Fund (HAF) for the Eastern Porirua Large Scale Project (LSP) [CAB-21-MIN-0190];
- **noted** that \$136 million was released as Tranche One HAF funding for the Eastern Porirua LSP, which is now fully committed to several projects, with work already underway;

#### **Preferred investment option**

- noted that the Eastern Porirua Programme Business Case, attached as Annex B to the paper under DEV-22-SUB-0205, is based on the \$307 million set aside for Eastern Porirua in Budget 2021;
- **endorsed** the preferred enhanced investment option, as outlined in Annex A to the paper under DEV-22-SUB-0205, which is informed by the Eastern Porirua Programme Business Case, but includes provision for increased density, housing supply, amenity, and alignment with the Porirua Pacific Housing Initiative;
- **agreed** to invest \$340 million in Eastern Porirua to achieve a significant uplift in supply and density, and to better accommodate market lots required for the Porirua Pacific Housing Initiative;
- **agreed** that the funding seeks to enable around 744 homes (558 additional), including 286 public homes (100 additional), 401 affordable homes (300 of which are market homes intended to be made affordable through the Porirua Pacific Housing Initiative), and 57 market homes;
- 7 noted that given the interdependency between the Eastern Porirua LSP and the Porirua Pacific Housing Initiative, officials have been asked to ensure alignment and to provide joint reporting to the Minister for Pacific Peoples, the Minister of Finance, and the Minister of Housing;
- 8 **noted** that the Minister of Finance and the Minister of Housing (joint Ministers) hold \$280 million to consider allocating to the Auckland LSPs on a case-by-case basis;

agreed to allocate \$33 million from the \$280 million held by joint Ministers to help address the funding shortfall in Eastern Porirua, noting that this leaves \$247 million held by joint Ministers;

# Fiscal risks and contingency

noted that costs are escalated in the business case, and that the preferred investment option includes at least a P75 (\$42.5 million) contingency;

# Framework for monitoring and reporting

- authorised joint Ministers to approve the monitoring approach for the Eastern Porirua LSP, giving effect to the agreed parameters, including any additional metrics and key performance indicators, thresholds, and change controls;
- noted that detailed reporting of scope, benefits, cost, revenue, schedule, and other key aspects will be provided to joint Ministers, Te Tūāpapa Kura Kāinga Ministry of Housing and Urban Development, and the Treasury on a regular basis to enable co-ordination, monitoring, risk management and development of advice;
- 13 **noted** that the first drawdown of funding (subsequent to Tranche One) will not occur until joint Ministers are satisfied that an appropriate baseline has been established against which the investment can be monitored;
- agreed that Kāinga Ora be required to report back to joint Ministers before making any decisions that may have an impact on the implementation of the Porirua Pacific Housing initiative;

s 9(2)(1)	(IV)	
15	s 9(2)(f)(iv)	

Janine Harvey Committee Secretary

#### Present:

Hon Grant Robertson (Chair)

Hon Dr Megan Woods

Hon David Parker

Hon Damien O'Connor

Hon Stuart Nash

Hon Michael Wood

Hon Kiri Allan

Hon Dr David Clark

Hon Dr Ayesha Verrall

Hon Priyanca Radhakrishnan

Hon Phil Twyford

Rino Tirikatene MP

Dr Deborah Russell MP

# Officials present from:

Office of the Prime Minister Officials Committee for DEV